World Schools Debating Championship 2022

World Schools Debating Championship 2022

This year's edition of the World Schools Debating Championship, the debating world cup for secondary level students, will be hosted by IDEA.

The World Schools Debating Championships (WSDC) is a truly global competition for high school debaters. WSDC takes place in a different country each year. Some of the recent host nations include Peru, Qatar, South Korea, Greece, South Africa, Thailand, Singapore, Germany, Indonesia, and Croatia. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Mexico WSDC 2020 and Macau WSDC 2021 were held online. 


The Netherlands Online WSDC 2022

This year, IDEA is hosting The Netherlands online WSDC 2022. We are looking forward to organizing the competition for teams from over 70 nations across the globe. 

The schedule for the 2022 preliminary rounds can be found here. Please bear in mind that changes to the schedule are still possible, and that the addition of time slots for elimination rounds is to be announced soon. 

For national delegations

Stage 1 national team registration was open until March 31st and is now closed.

Stage 2 national team registration was open until April 30th and is now closed.

Stage 3 registration is still under way. During Stage 3, we are contacting national delegations with outstanding registration fees and/or registration errors directly. Please make sure that your team's registration is in order - participant eligibility, correct and complete information requested in Stage 2, and a timely registration fee payment are all conditions for participation at WSDC 2022.


For individuals

Applications and voting for Motions Committee members are closed. The members of the WSDC 2022 Motions Committee are Varshini Venkatesh (India), Luka Petrović (Croatia), Julio Meyer (Mexico), Kithmina Hewage (Sri Lanka), Njuguna Macharia (Kenya), Huw Jones (Wales), and Tamkeen Nawab (Pakistan).

Applications and nominations for Chief Adjudicators' Panel (CAP) members are closed. The members selected to serve on the WSDC 2022 CAP are Alice Bertoni (Brazil), Chansol Park (Korea/China), Daniel Tenggara (Indonesia), Eric Kazadi (South Africa/Democratic Republic of Congo), Jacqueline Belzberg (Canada), Maurice Coutiel (Greece), Shruti Deb (India), Shudipto R. Ahmed (Bangladesh), and Wairimu Manyara (Kenya).

Applications for Independent Adjudicators (IAs) are open until midnight UTC on July 6th. You can apply for a subsidy or judging without one. 

Applications for additional Complaints Officers are open until midnight UTC on July 6th. You can apply for the position or nominate candidates. 




tentative schedule days
Aug 07, 2022 - Aug 18, 2022
High School
WSDC 2022 Newsletter